Speedway Grand Prix 2011 Review

The Speedway Grand Prix (SGP) 2011 kicked off in Leszno, Poland on 30 April for the first in the 11 round series. Reigning world champion Tomasz Gollob could only manage second in the grand final behind Dane Nicki Pedersen, but topped the table on points after one GP.

Round two saw the Swedish GP arrive in Gothenburg and was won by Australian Chris Holder, with USA’s Greg Hancock finishing second. Hancock and Gollob were tied on 24 points apiece at the top of the overall leader board.

The Czech GP in Prague provided the third different winner in three rounds as Greg Hancock took to the top step of the podium, ahead of Jaroslaw Hampel in second and Tomasz Gollob in third. Hancock topped the overall standings for the first time, six points ahead of Gollob.

Round four travelled to Copenhagen for the Danish GP. Tomasz Gollob was impervious scoring a 20-point maximum and catapulting himself back to the top of the leaderboard. Jason Crump finished second, his best result of the year so far and Chris Holder secured the bronze medal.

30,000 spectators at the blue-ribbon event of the year at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium saw Greg Hancock secure victory, ahead of Nicki Pedersen and Chris Holder. A nightmare for Tomasz Gollob saw him gain only one heat win and just seven points, meaning Hancock once again topped the overall standings.

The Olimpia Stadium in Terenzano, Italy hosted the sixth round of the championship. Swede Andreas Jonsson took the honours and another strong finish from Hancock saw him extend his overall lead over Tomasz Gollob to 22 points.

Malilla in Sweden played host to the seventh round of the SGP data sgp  and Pole Jaroslaw Hampel took gold, ahead of Andreas Jonsson and Kenneth Bjerre. Greg Hancock failed to make the final and ended on only nine points, but another terrible night for Tomasz Gollob saw hi score just three world championship points and he slipped to third in the overall standings behind Hampel and Hancock.

The SGP returned to Poland for round eight in Torun. Andreas Jonsson won the final, ahead of Jaroslaw Hampel and wildcard entract Darcy Ward. Hampel’s strong finish saw him close the gap between himself and Greg Hancock at the top of the overall standards to 17 points.

Round nine of the Cahmpionship travelled to Vojens in Denmark for the Nordic GP. Greg Hancock cemented his place at the top of the overall standards with victory on the night, ahdead of Jason Crump and Freddie Lindgren.

Rounds ten at Gorican in Croatia saw Andreas Jonsson win his third GP od the year, ahead of Brit Chris Harris and Freddie Lindgren. Fourth place on the night saw Greg Hancock extend his overall lead to an uncatchable 36 points.

The final round of the series was held at Gorzow in Poland and with the pressure off Greg Hancock romped to a rain soaked victory.

Congratulations to Greg Hancock, 2011 Speedway World Champion.


Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *